Jury Play

Written by Ben Harrison and Dr Jenny Scott.

An immersive theatre co-production between Grid Iron and Traverse Theatre.

2nd – 7th October 2017
Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh

Juror participation is not a feature of our criminal trials.  But what if the system could be different?

Inspired by the pioneering work of Dr Jenny Scott, this immersive play transforms Traverse 1 into a courtroom where barriers are deconstructed and jurors take centre stage.

We tune into the thoughts, fears and anxieties of fifteen jurors, selected from the audience, as they struggle to stay focused in a high profile murder trial.  What does ‘beyond reasonable doubt’ actually mean?  Why is all the evidence presented in an illogical order?

Peter the Judge is disaffected too.  For years he has watched as the jurors struggled with understanding the complexities of evidence and cross-examination.  Maybe it’s time for a change, for an experiment in democracy.

Grid Iron bring their 21 year-old multi-award winning expertise and audience-centred work to bear on the dynamics of a courtroom; re-imagining the architecture, the subtle oppressions and the failure to deal with prejudice.


Photo credit:  Mihaela Bodlovic

What The Press Said:

Cast & Creative Team:


John Bett  Judge
Mary Gapinski  Ms Kennedy (Defence)
Neil John Gibson  Kenny
Sean Hay  Macer/Policeman/Mr Dancer
Helen Mackay  Janis
Kirstin Murray  Ms Bell (Prosecutor)
Gail Watson  Mrs gray/Macer/G4S Officer



Writer & Director  Ben Harrison
Writer  Dr Jenny Scott
Producer  Judith Doherty
Assistant Director/Transmedia Design  Rob Jones
Set & Costume Design  Emily James
Music & Sound Design  David Paul Jones
Lighting Design  Paul Claydon
Video Design  Lewis den Hertog
Stage Manager  Gemma Turner
Deputy Stage Manager/Clerk to the Court  Lauren Roberts
Costume Supervisor  Sophie Ferguson
Finance & Development Manager  Deborah Crewe
Set built by  Big House Events
Print design by  Emma Quinn


Artistic Director  Orla O’Loughlin
Executive Producer  Linda Crooks
Associate Director (Dramaturgical Support)  Zinnie Harris
Production Manager  Kevin McCallum
Chief Electrician  Renny Robertson
Deputy Electrician  Claire Elliot
Lighting and Sound Technician  Tom Saunders
Head of Stage  Gary Staerk
Set Storage  CR Smith


Stage Management  Alison White
Technical  Sophie Wright
Sound Design  Gavin Russell